About Us


the brief history of Nigeria institute of Nigeria relation

The Nigerian Institute of Public Relations (NIPR), hitherto known as the Public Relations Association of Nigeria, was established in 1963 through the pioneering efforts of Dr Sam Epelle, Alex Nwokedi, Aduke Alakija, Theo Awobogu, Kunle Ojora, Wilton High and Dan Agbakova. The body attained the status of a Chartered Institute through Decree No. 16 of 1990 (now an Act of the National Assembly). The defunct Public Relations Association of Nigeria was founded. The Law empowers the Nigerian Institute of Public Relations to register members, regulate and monitor the practice/development of the PR Profession as well as monitor professional conduct through an established Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct. The law also stipulates academic and professional qualifications required for admission into the Institute. As the sole regulator of Public Relations practice in Nigeria, the Institute is supervised by the Federal Ministry of Information and National Orientation.


 Governing Council

At the helm of the Institute’s affairs is a twenty-two (22) member Council comprising 17 registered public relations professionals elected every two years by members of the Institute and five (5) members of the Institute nominated by the Federal Government. The Council is chaired by the President who is assisted by a Vice President. The President and Vice President are elected every two years through an electoral college made up of only elected Council Members. 


To ease the day-to-day administration of the Institute, the Law provides for the appointment of a Registrar by the Council appoints a Registrar. The Registrar is appointed for a fixed renewable term of five years and has the primary duty to prepare and maintain the register of members by the rules made by the Council. The Registrar is assisted by a host of competent and professional diverse workforce located at the Abuja National Secretariat and the Lagos liaison office of the secretariat. Ultimately all acts undertaken by the NIPR’s officers and staff are in the name of, and with the authority of, the Council.

The composition of the NIPR Governing Council (2023-2025) is as follows: 

Elected Members

1.   Dr. Ike Neliaku  fnipr - President & Chairman of Council – FCT Chapter

2.   Prof. Emmanuel S. Dandaura fnipr, FNAL - Vice President & Vice Chairman of Council – Nasarawa Chapter

3.   Dr. Sule Ya'u Sule  fnipr – Kano Chapter

4.   Mr. Akin Agbejule fnipr – Niger CHapter

5.   Mrs. Olubunmi Adedoyin Badejo fnipr – FCT Chapter

6.   Prof. Kate Azuka Omenugha fnipr – Anambra Chapter

7.   Mallam Bashir Adamu Chedi  fnipr – Kaduna Chapter

8.   Prince Ford ObiOzumba  fnipr – Imo Chapter

9.   Dr. Saudat Salah Abdulbaqi fnipr – Kwara Chapter

10.    Mrs. Thelma  Chika Okoh   mnipr – Lagos Chapter

11.    Comrade Ini Ememobong Essien  mnipr - Akwa Ibom Chapter

12.    Mallam Kabir Ali Kobi  mnipr – Bauchi Chapter

13.    Pastor Paulinus Enyindah Nsirim mnipr  - Rivers Chapter

14.    Prof. Sarah Benjamin Lwahas mnipr  - Plateau Chapter

15.    Mr. Adaramola Temitope  mnipr – Ogun Chapter

16.    Dr. Adewale Oladipo Oyekanmi mnipr – Osun Chapter

17.    Mr. Bajulaiye Olanrewaju Adetokunbo anipr – Lagos Chapter


Federal Government Nominees

18.    Brig. Gen. S.K. Usman (Rtd), fnipr, mni – FCT Chapter

19.    Hajiya Maryam Mohammed Sanusi fnipr – FCT Chapter

20.    Mrs. Omolara Ebunoluwa Esan  - FCT Chapter

21.    Mr. Jibril Baba Ndace – Niger Chapter

22.    Mr. Lanre Issa-Onilu  - Lagos Chapter



The NIPR has Chapters across the thirty-six (36) States of the Federation and the Federal Capital Territory (Abuja), each Chapter is headed by an elected Chairman who is assisted by a Vice Chair and other Executive Committee members. 


Grand Patron and Patrons of the Institute

By the NIPR Act, the President and Commander-in-Chief of the Federal Republic of Nigeria by law is the Grand Patron of the Institute, while the Governors at State levels and the Minister of FCT are Patrons. 


Successive Presidents of the Institute

From inception to date, the Nigerian Institute of Public Relations has produced fifteen (15) Presidents in the following order of succession:


Dr. Ike Neliaku                          2023 - Date 

Mallam Mukhtar Sirajo              2018 – 2023

Dr. Rotimi Oladele                     2013 – 2018

Alh. Mohammed A. Abdullahi    2009 – 2013

Professor Ike Nwosu                 2005 – 2009

Senebo Bobo Brown                 2001 – 2005

Chief Jibade Oyekan                 1998 – 2001

Alhaji Sabo Mohammed            1993 – 1998

Mazi Mike Okereke                   1988 – 1993

Chief Alex Akinyele                   1984 – 1988

Chief Bob Ogbuagu                  1980 – 1984

Alhaji Ikhaz Yakubu                  1976 – 1980

Tonye Willie Harry                     1972 – 1976

Chief Kanu Offonry                   1968 – 1972

Dr. Sam Epelle                          1963 – 1968